Where to start Monogatari Series?

Monogatari (物語) is a series of Light Novels written by Nishio Ishin and illustrated by Vofan, a Taiwanese designer. The light novel is launched and licensed by the Kodansha publishing house, currently having 20 volumes.

The story revolves around Koyomi Araragi, a third-year Japanese high school student who recently survived an encounter with a vampire, and was then introduced to the world of the various types of mysterious creatures in Japanese folklore.


Recalling that Monogatari is a novel, novels different from Light Novels, use and abuse kanjis. I always prefer to read the light novel than to see the anime, but keep in mind that reading it can be difficult.

The reason for this post is the fact that the chronology of monogatari is quite complicated, even those more connected to history feel a bit of confusion, so this post will explain the chronology and we will make comments separately.

Plot / History

The light novel follows the story of Koyomi Araragi, a third-year high school student who became a “quasi-human” after becoming a vampire for a short period of time. One day, a classmate named Hitagi Senjougahara, who never talks to anyone, falls off the school steps directly into Koyomi's arms. He then discovers that it has no weight, defying the laws of physics. Even though he was threatened by her and told to stay away and forget what he saw, Koyomi offers help and introduces her to Meme Oshino, a strange middle-aged man who lives in an abandoned building and who made him become a human again.

The series introduces a new protagonist for each arc, each involving a different element of Japanese folklore. Each of them has an item that symbolizes their ghost, such as Hitagi's stapler (a crab's claw), Mayoi's backpack (a snail's hoof), Suruga's arm (monkey's arm), hat and the ruffled blouse of Nadeko (the head and skin of snake), and the yellow clothes with black stripes of Karen (the colors of a bee). The events of the anterior arc play an important role in subsequent arcs.

The striking feature of the series is the long and fast-paced dialogues between the characters, which contain a large number of parodies and references to other series.

What is the chronological order of Monogatari series?

01- Kizumonogatari (Part I - II and III)
02- Nekomonogatari
03- Bakemonogatari
04- Nisemonogatari
05- Monogatari Series - Second Season
06- Tsukimonogatari
07- Owarimonogatari
08- Koyomimonogatari
09- Hanamonogatari


A little about the monogatari characters

Koyomi Araragi (阿良々木暦 Araragi Koyomi): Araragi Koyomi, the main character of the story, has powers coming through Oshino Shinobu (a vampire), thus being a half-vampire.

Mayoi Hachikuji (八九寺真宵 Hachikuji Mayoi): Hachikuji looks like a loli, making Araragi have a complex with her, being commented by other characters that he might be a lolicon. A curiosity about Hachikuji is that although she is a ghost, she cannot or does not have the skills to cross walls.

Suruga Kanbaru (神原駿河 Kanbaru Suruga): Kanbaru is admittedly a lesbian, being kouhai of Araragi Koyomi, she was threatened by Hitagi senjougahara for having discovered her secret, the same as Araragi.


Shinobu Oshino (忍野忍 Oshino Shinobu): She is known as "Kiss Shot Acelora Orion Heart Under Blade" and being the one who starts Araragi Koyomi's adventure, she says she is in her 500s, but in fact her real age is close of 590 years.

I hope this article has helped you to understand a little bit about Monogatari Series and its chronology.