Japan's 118 volcanoes

Learn Japanese with Anime, click to learn more!


Japan has the largest number of active volcanoes in the world, 13% of the active volcanoes are located in Japan. There are more than 118 active volcanoes spread over the more than 6 thousand islands that form Japan. These volcanoes are called active because they erupted or showed data on volcanic activity over the 10,000-year period.

Currently 47 of these volcanoes are monitored constantly, 13 of these volcanoes are at high risk and could erupt. In this article, we will see the 5 most dangerous volcanoes in Japan and a complete list of all volcanoes in this beautiful country.

Japan's most dangerous volcanoes

Mount Fuji (富士山 - Fujisan) has erupted 16 times since 781. That's an average of once every 76 years. The last eruption was in 1708. Mount Fuji is located near Tokyo, endangering more than 35 million lives.


Os 118 vulcões do japão - monte fuji vista

O Monte Aso it is one of the largest volcanoes in the world - its caldera is 120 kilometers in circumference. An eruption 90,800 years ago released 600 km³ of lava and debris. An eruption of this size today would have devastating consequences that extend far beyond Japan's borders. To learn more about this volcano read our article clicking here.

Sakurajima (桜島) is a volcano located a few meters from the city of Kagoshima with a population of more than 600 thousand inhabitants. Sakurajima was an island that erupted in 1914 and formed a peninsula. Sakurajima erupted in 1955 and has since been erupting, and several small explosions occur every year.



O Shinmoedake is a volcano located in Kagoshima, he was the secret base of the 1967 Bond movie villain 007. This volcano erupted in 2008, 2009 and 2011 days after the famous earthquake in the Tohoku region.

O Mount Asama is the most active volcano on the main island of Japan (Honshu), it is close to Tokyo, Gunma and Nagano. Mount Asama erupted in 1783 and later and became quite active after 1982, causing fires, etc.



Volcanoes is one of the causes of Japan having so many earthquakes, while earthquakes can be the cause of the eruption of these volcanoes.

List of volcanoes in Japan

Finally, a list of most of Japan's volcanoes and their location and last eruption follows. The list is not 100% complete and detailed. I hope you enjoyed the article, share it with friends and leave your comments.

Name Location Last Eruption
Abu (volcano) Honshu -
Akita-Komaga-Take Honshu 1971
Akita-Yake-Yama Honshu 1997
Akusekijima Ryukyu Islands -
Aogashima Izu Peninsula 1785
Bayonnaise Rocks Izu Peninsula 1970
Caldera Kikai Ryukyu Islands 2004
Fukue-jima Kyushu 550 BC
Gajajima Ryukyu Islands -
Hachijō-jima Izu Peninsula 1707
Hakkōda Monteains Honshu 1997
Hijiori Honshu 8300 BC ± 1000 years
Hiuchi Honshu 1544
Ibusuki Volcanic Field Kyushu 885
Iriomote-jima Ryukyu Islands 1924
Iwaki Honshu 1863
Iwate Honshu 1919
Izu-Tobu Honshu 1989
Iōtorishima Ryukyu Islands 1968
Kanpu Honshu 750 BC
Kogajajima Ryukyu Islands -
Kuchinoerabu-jima Ryukyu Islands 2015
Kuchinoshima - -
Kurikoma Honshu 1950
Kurose Hole Izu Peninsula -
Kōzu-shima Izu Peninsula 838
Lake Kuttara Hokkaido -
Lake Mashū Hokkaido -
Lake Shikotsu Hokkaido Holocene
Megata Honshu 2050 BC
Mikura-jima Izu Peninsula 3450 BC
Miyake-jima Izu Peninsula 2010
Mount Adatara Honshu 1990
Mount Akagi Honshu -
Mount Asahi (Daisetsuzan) Hokkaido 1739
Mount Asama Honshu 2009
Monte Aso Kyushu 2016[1]
Mount Azuma Honshu 1977
Mount Bandai Honshu 1888
Mount Chōkai Honshu 1974
Mount Fuji Honshu 1707
Mount Hachimantai Honshu -
Mount Hakone Honshu 950 BC ± 100 years
Mount Haku Honshu 1659
Mount Haruna Honshu 550 ± 10 years
Mount Iō (Shiretoko) Hokkaido 1936
Mount Kirishima Kyushu 2011[2][3]
Mount Kuju Kyushu 1996
Mount Kusatsu-Shirane Honshu 1989
Mount Meakan Hokkaido 2008
Mount Mutsuhiuchi Honshu Pleistocene
Mount Myōkō Honshu 2360 BC ± 150 years
Mount Nantai Honshu -
Mount Nasu Honshu 1963
Mount Niigatayake Honshu 1998
Mount Nikkō-Shirane Honshu 1890
Mount Norikura Honshu 6870 BC ± 500 years
Monte Ontake Honshu 2014
Monte Osore Honshu 1787
Monte Rausu Hokkaido 1880
Mount Rishiri Hokkaido 5830 BC
Mount Shiretoko Hokkaido 200000 BC
Monte Tate Honshu 1858
Mount Tateshina Honshu -
Mount Tsurumi Kyushu 867
Mount unzen Kyushu 1996
Monte Yake Honshu 1995
Mount Yōtei Hokkaido 1050 BC
Mount Zaō Honshu 1940
Myōjin-shō Izu Peninsula -
Narugo Honshu 837
Nigorigawa Hokkaido Pleistocene
Nii-jima Izu Peninsula 886
Nipesotsu-Maruyama Volcanic Group Hokkaido 1899
Niseko Hokkaido 4050 BC
Numazawa Honshu 2980 BC ± 150 years
Oki-Dogo Honshu -
Omanago Group Honshu -
Oshima Hokkaido 1790
Otake (Naka-no-shima) Ryukyu Islands 1949
Sakura-jima Kyushu 2016 [4]
Sanbe Group Honshu 1760 BC ± 150 years
Shiga Honshu -
Shikaribetsu Volcanic Group Hokkaido Holocene
Shinmoedake Kyushu 2011
Shiribetsu Hokkaido Holocene
Shōwa-shinzan Hokkaido 1945
Sumiyoshi-Ike Kyushu 4550 BC
Suwanosejima Ryukyu Islands 2007
Takahara Honshu 4570 BC
To-shima Izu Peninsula 4050 BC
Tori-shima Izu Peninsula 2002
Towada Honshu 915
Washiba-Kumontaira Honshu 4000 BC
Yokoate-jima Ryukyu Islands 1835 ± 30 years
Ōshima Izu Peninsula 1990