The map of Japan and its 8 Regions

Japan is an archipelago of more than 6 thousand islands that inhabit more than 127 million people. It may seem strange but Japan is divided into 47 states and 8 regions. Regions are associated with the climate, geographical characteristics, culture, food and dialects of Japanese. Below we will see a little about each region of Japan.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Hokkaido 北海道

Hokkaido is the second largest island in Japan, located in the north. It is a vast area of farms, mountains, small towns and famous cities like Sapporo and Asahikawa that have surprisingly large areas leisure and tourism. The island's population is about 5.5 million people.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Tohoku 東北

Tohoku (Touhoku) literally means northeast, located in the north of Japan's main island, and includes six provinces: Akita, Aomori, Fukushima, Iwate, Miyagi and Yamagata.

Tohoku has a reputation for an icy desert, but the region has hot summers and a population of more than 9 million people, including several major cities like Sendai and Morioka. The region has a dialect of Japanese known as Tohoku-ben that is strong enough to make communication a little difficult for the people of Tokyo.

Many people are ashamed to use the dialect outside their hometown, because they have a stigma of being rural. Tohoku is known for its winter sports, festivals, hospitality and excellent food.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Kanto - 関東

Kanto is a populous region of 43 million people centered around Tokyo. It also includes Kanagawa, Chiba, Saitama, Ibaraki, Tochigi and Gunma.

Much of the region is a giant block of the urban area known as Greater Tokyo. Unlike other regions in Japan, few people identify strongly saying that it is from the Kanto region. Instead, they tend to identify with their city like Tokyo, Yokohama or Saitama. If you ask people where they are from, no one says Kanto.

Kanto is a gigantic place, an endless journey with all kinds of adventures.

Kanto Can also be divided into North and South 

The map of japan and its 8 regions
The map of japan and its 8 regions

Kansai - 関西

Kansai is a region of 22 million inhabitants centered around the cities of Osaka, Kyoto and Kobe, which form a large urban area. The region has a dialect of the Japanese language known as Kansai-ben.

Kansai and Kanto have an intense rivalry that lasts for centuries. The region includes Kyoto, Osaka, Hyogo, Nara, Wakayama, Mie, Shiga and Fukui. Kansai also has the best tourist attractions in Japan.

Note: Formerly Kansai was called Kinki 近畿.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Chugoku - 中国

The Chugoku region is at the bottom of Japan's main island and includes Hiroshima, Okayama, Shimane, Tottori and Yamaguchi.

The Kanji for Chugoku is 中国 which is also the Japanese word for China which means “middle country”. This is a strange name for a region in Japan, so an alternative name is Sanin-Sanyo, used occasionally. Chugoku has several distinct Japanese dialects. Some parts of the region are heavily industrialized and others are rural areas.

Chugoku has a population of 7.5 million and Hiroshima is its largest city. The Hiroshima area is also home to many tourist attractions. Like Itsukushima Shrine and Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Kyushu and Okinawa 九州

Kyushu is an island populated with 13 million people, it is the 37th largest island in the world. The island is lush and green and has several of Japan's most active volcanoes. It is divided into seven provinces: Fukuoka, Saga, Kumamoto, Nagasaki, Oita, Kagoshima and Miyazaki.

Kyushu has been populated since prehistoric times and has a rich history that is represented by the many castles and temples in the area. Kyushu also has several of Japan's largest cities and the most well-known hot springs.

Okinawa is a chain of islands in southern Japan with a humid subtropical climate and a unique culture. Its population is relatively low, just over 2 million people. Okinawa has eight main islands and each has a unique local culture.

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Shikoku 四国

Shikoku is the smallest of Japan's four main islands and is the 50th largest island in the world.

La is located Ehime, Kagawa, Kochi, and Tokushima, which have relatively low populations. The population of the entire island is 4 million. Shikoku has a pleasant nature, temples, hot springs and great festivals. 

The map of japan and its 8 regions

Chubu 中部

Chubu is a collection of provinces in the middle of Japan between Kyoto and Tokyo. Its provinces are Aichi, Gifu, Ishikawa, Nagano, Niigata, Shizuoka, Toyama and Yamanashi. The region contains the most mountainous areas in Japan, including Mount Fuji. Chubu also includes Nagoya, the country's fourth largest city. The region's population is close to 22 million.

Chubu can also be divided into 3:

  • Hokuriku (northwest of Chubu)
  • Koshinetsu (northeast of Chubu)
  • Tokai (south of Chubu, includes Nagoya)
The map of japan and its 8 regions
The map of japan and its 8 regions
The map of japan and its 8 regions

Those were the 8 Regions of Japan. I hope you enjoyed it, and be sure to share. Below we will leave another map so that you can understand more about the geography of Japan.


 Site Photos:

Share This Article:

2 thoughts on “O mapa do Japão e suas 8 Regiões”

  1. Olá Kevin, salvei sua homepage, pois pretendo obter informações dele.Pretendo fazer uma viagem como mochileiro por um mês, visitando os locais mais conhecidos e culturais, sem ficar ligado em eventos e sim conhecer o dia dia na região. Parabéns e dicas serão bem vindas.

    • Obrigado, espero que goste… Se tiver qualquer duvida pode sugerir ela aqui que podemos escrever um artigo sobre…

Leave a Comment