Japanese dialects 方言 hōgen

Learn Japanese with Anime, click to learn more!


Just like in Brazil we have the caipira, baiano, nordestino dialect and many others. Japan has numerous regional dialects. These dialects are sometimes difficult for the Japanese to understand.

Japan has 47 provinces (states), and it has a mountainous nature, and throughout Japan's history its people lived divided, with several regions fighting each other. Thus, the Japanese language developed in parallel in different parts of the country.

The dialects differ among themselves by accent, verb formation and adjectives, use of particles, vocabulary and in some cases pronunciation. Some also differ in consonants and vowels, although this is uncommon.


One of the biggest factors for the difference in the way of speaking is geography. In more isolated places like islands, distant regions or difficult to access, for a long time the presence of people and information from other parts was limited.

The Dialects

Below we have a map with the name of most of the dialects found in Japan, it is worth remembering that in some small towns and islands, these dialects can also be slightly different.

Os dialetos japoneses 方言 hōgen


The dialects can be divided and classified into 3 groups:

  • Kyūshū
    • Satsugū
    • Hichiku
    • Hōnichi
  • Western
    • Chūgoku
    • Umpaku
    • Shikoku
    • Kansai
    • Hokuriku
  • Eastern
    • Tōkai-Tosan
    • Kantō
    • Hokkaidō interior
    • Tōhoku
    • Hokkaidō Coastline
  • Hachijo (Hachijo Islands)

I really prefer to write separate articles about each dialect, as it is quite complex to be addressed. Over time, on our website, we will create articles about each dialect that you can access from the list below:


With the videos below you can get to know the dialects and notice their differences.